R.I.P Reading Challenge

I’ve never participated in a reading challenge before, and this month I’m planning on doing TWO!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

First up:
R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril IX, hosted by Carl at StainlessSteelDroppings.

The challenge is to read books from the following categories (and you can choose to watch films and television, as well):

Mystery.
Suspense.
Thriller.
Dark Fantasy.
Gothic.
Horror.
Supernatural.

I will be attempting Peril the First, in which I am to read four books in the month of September. Should be a snap, right? We’ll see! I’m starting my reading list with the following:

  1. The Secret Place, by Tana French: I am so, so excited for her new book, releasing on September 2. Great timing!
  2. Spider Woman’s Daughter, by Anne Hillerman: Carrying on the Leaphorn and Chee novels by Tony Hillerman’s daughter.
  3. Starting two new (to me) series: Cold Dish, the Sheriff Longmire series by Craig Johnson
  4. Still Life, the Chief Inspector Gamache series by Louise Penny

I will also participate in Peril on the Screen.

Unfortunately, Gracepoint (the US version of Broadchurch) won’t start till October 2.  And the new (YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!) Inspector Lewis episodes won’t air until October either. What to do?

  1. I do have the 4th and 5th seasons of Justified to catch up on.
  2. And I have the first season of The Equalizer on my Netflix queue, but since it’s marked Long Wait, I’m not sure about that one.
  3. I think I will move the 1982 Cat People film up to the top of my queue.
  4. Hey! The Blacklist returns on September 22! Unfortunately, no date yet for Hannibal.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The next reading challenge is the Mary Stewart Reading Week, hosted (I think) at Gudrun’s Tights. It runs from September 14 to the 21st. I’m not sure what I’ll read for that week yet. Perhaps The Gabriel Hounds.

7 thoughts on “R.I.P Reading Challenge

  1. Carl V. Anderson says:

    Wonderful to have you! I hope you enjoy the Penny book. It started a little rough, but I was hooked early and each novel has gotten better, in my opinion. I am almost done with the latest and will be disappointed when I have to wait for the next.

    • Carl V. Anderson says:

      Hopefully you’ll enjoy them. Its hard if you hear too much good as it can set up unrealistic expectations. Hers are one of the few ongoing character-driven mystery series that I read and it truly is the characters that keep my coming back with each novel.

  2. cloudsinthenightsky says:

    It will be tough, for sure! You only need four books period, but you can also participate at lower levels–reading one or two books from any of the categories.

    I haven’t read Mary Stewart for quite a while, but she was one of my favorites, and I think underappreciated today!

  3. Ann Perrigo says:

    I know myself too well–I’m too addicted to Facebook to have enough leftover time for reading! Do you need to read four titles from ONE of these genres?

    Mary Stewart–that one is tempting! Would love to read The Crystal Cave again, but probably would take longer than a week. An old-fashioned gothic might be fun, though!

    Ann

Leave a Reply

